World Cup 2018: Leroy Sane left out of Germany World Cup squad

Leroy Sanè left out of World Cup

The end of Manchester City, Leroy Sane, has been out of the final selection of 23 men from Germany.

Sane, pair Bayer Leverkusen Bernd Leno and Jonathan Tah and Freiburg forward Nils Petersen were eliminated when Joachim Low cut the provisional squad of 27 men of the defending champions.

Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, who returned after nine months in Saturday’s 2-1 loss to Austria, is on the team.

Three players from the Premier League are selected.

Belgium includes Kompany, but Benteke is lost by the rivals of the England group
Read the full list of confirmed squads of the World Cup. Chelsea defender Antonio Rudiger, city midfielder Ilkay Gundogan and Arsenal player Mesut Ozil have been named to the team.

Germany is in Group F with Mexico, Sweden, and South Korea, and will play their first match on Sunday, June 17.

The star season of Sane with City
Sane was eliminated from the team was a surprise after an excellent season with City, who saw him named the young player of the Premier League of the year.

He scored 14 goals and assisted 19 in all competitions, as City won the league with five games to spare. Midfielder Ozil scored five times and had 14 assists for Arsenal.

However, Ozil created 84 chances in the Premier League, compared to 58 in Sane.

Low said it was a “very close decision” between Sane and Julian Brandt, who scored 12 goals and gave seven assists to the Bundesliga team, Bayer Leverkusen, fifth this year.

Sane had played in six of Germany’s last seven games, including the start of their last game, Saturday’s 2-1 loss to Austria.

Germany’s 23-man squad in full

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris St-Germain)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea), Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Paris St-Germain), Leon Goretska (Schalke), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern Munich)

Strikers: Mario Gomez (Stuttgart), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)

Leave a Reply

In the news
Load More
%d bloggers like this: